top of page

When To Invest, When To Save


To spend or not to spend that is the question...

This is what us fashion lovers say debating on what is actually worth the money to splurge and invest in and when just to save your money instead.

In a world of fast fashion stores, and world of luxury designer goods, it is hard for us to figure out what to buy where and more importantly, for what price.

Don't get me wrong, I love fast fashion stores, and I love me a good bargain! But when you're looking for for a classic staple that will last more than a season, consider spending a little more to gain a higher quality piece that you can love and wear much longer than your fast fashion finds.

Whether your splurge for your type of budget is $150 or $1500, every situation is different. Every budget and lifestyle varies from person to person. But, this is the mentality I use when deciding whether or not a splurge is worth it!

Let's look at the splurge of a Louis Vuitton Neverfull GM bag. For me, every outfit isn't complete without a bag. I love having a classic handbag that will go with every single outfit in my closet. This bag is definitely one of those in my eyes. When you find an item you love that goes with every single outfit, that in my eyes is worth it. The perfect investment bag should be durable, easy to carry, and very much your style.

Think about quality over quantity. Would you rather have 5 really good, classic bags? Or 30 bags that will only last you a season or two?

I love Louis Vuitton because the quality the bag you're getting is absolutely amazing. Each individual bag is hand crafted specifically, and that is what makes many customers to the brand so loyal. Feeling a bond with a brand is extremely important in status.

Every single one of their bags is a classic staple piece. Louis Vuitton is a haute couture house and they will never go out of style and always remain a classic staple. Every bag is a neutral color with simple designs, making it extremely easy for any bag to go with any outfit.

I'm not always about status, but I do love how expensive their bags are. Not in a way to brag about money (believe me, I have to save for a looooong time to buy a new bag), but it shows other people I give a lot about fashion and style and I adore the items I chose.

These are just a few of the reasons why a Louis splurge is completely worth it to me!

If you've been tempted and thinking about buying a gorgeous designer bag, or any other hefty piece, here is just a few things to think about:

  • Think about it - How long have you been thinking about this bag? If it's something you've been thinking about for a few months or even a year, that is something that would be worth splurging for in my opinion, and that it is not a n impulse decision.

  • Save for it - Don't just go impulsively buy something now because I told you that if you've been thinking about it for awhile to do so. Save up for this item now. Don't spend all your money this second. Put a few dollars away every paycheck, and you'll be there in no time!

  • Is it a classic - Will this piece go with every item I have in my wardrobe? Will you get a lot of use out of this item? Just something to think about.

If you also want to splurge, but don't want to go all the way for a Louis, you can also check out other sites such as Tradesy, therealreal, and theladybag.com. These sites all have authentic designer bags, but cheaper than the original designer websites.

However, if you’re looking to quickly refresh your wardrobe for the season, fast fashion is a great affordable option. You can experiment with trends without feeling a hint of buyer’s remorse and have the freedom to be more adventurous than you would be when spending serious cash. What are some items that you’ve splurged on and found it to be worth it?! Let me know in the comments below!


Meet Serena

Daughter, sister, significant other, leader, passionate, dreamer, believer.

Recent Posts

bottom of page