top of page

Why I Started Blogging


Woohoo, we finally made it the end of the week! So I wanted to personalize my blog a little bit today by writing a little something about myself.

Since I'm a new blogger and started it up random and out of the blue, I have been getting asked the question “why did you start blogging”?

It’s a great question because I literally feel as though I'm working 3 jobs right now. Between currently working a full time job in fashion, blogging part time/LIKEtoKNOW.it, and in the works of opening up my own boutique, I have really have had no down town for myself at all these last few months. So then there is the wonder of how do you do that all? How do you balance a full time job, blogging and entrepreneurship? Why did you start? Etc.. those are great questions! So today I was going to answer these questions for you! Here’s my WHY:

For those of you who don't know me, I went to Albright College in Reading, Pennsylvania, and graduated with a degree in Fashion Merchandising. I am currently a Textile CAD Designer, and have always loved fashion and always have been looked up to for style.

As I began to use my own personal Instagram account to get inspiration for clothing, and outfit ideas I eventually stumbled upon the LIKEtoKNOW.it app. I instantly became obsessed with it, and my bank account was paying for it too, haha.

I decided I wanted to be like many of the girls I saw on Instagram who were in college, always going out to parties, and posting cute outfits. Of course I'm not much of a partier anymore, but I wanted just casual shots in all my outfits instead. I did fun Iphone photoshoots with a good friend, and we would both post our photos to Instagram.

It was discouraging to me at first I didn't have a lot of followers because I wanted to be affiliates for clothing boutiques, and brands, but didn't have the audience to show off to. I noticed many of the fashion girls/people I followed had blogs, and would post their links to clothing items on there and talk about their clothing.

So here we are. I started serenaajoyce.com because I saw what could possibly be. This was a nerve wracking move for me because I didn't know if anyone was even going to read my blog. I didn't pay for a domain name at first just incase I didn't end up getting any views.

But my love for fashion and piecing things together slowly ended up paying off. I learned about many more bloggers, started to talking to other bloggers on Instagram, and one mentioned to me that I should be an influencer on the LIKEtoKNOW.it app. At first this was a little discouraging to me because I still didn't have a huge following on Instagram, and I honestly didn't even think my application would get approved. Only about 2 days passed when I received the email from RewardStyle, that I had been accepted into the LIKEtoKNOW.it family! I was seriously so ecstatic about the fact that I would literally be making money just by talking about clothes, and that I was among 33,000 other influencers/bloggers on the app.

Now I've decided to open up my own online boutique (champagneandchicory.com), which has been a dream of mine for about a year now. I mainly wanted to do this not only because of my love for fashion, but because I don't want to work for anyone else. I want to make my own hours, be my own boss, and not feel like I disappoint my superiors/colleagues all the time in the workplace.

Its all about the joy of feeling good in something that you wear + helping others feel that way too. Thank you for all of you to follow & support my blog. Without you all, it wouldn’t be possible!

GET MY LOOK HERE:


Meet Serena

Daughter, sister, significant other, leader, passionate, dreamer, believer.

Recent Posts

bottom of page