top of page

How To Inspire Yourself Again


Ugh, the weekend is over, and I feel like it just went by so fast. I have been extremely inactive on all social media this weekend due to the fact Nick's family had traveled across the state to come visit us for the weekend in our new home. It was such a fun time, and I always love spending time with his family! It's really nice because his immediate family is huge, and I never grew up in a large family, so spending time with family this large is something I've never been apart of.

On another note, I feel as though I've been pretty inactive on social media as a whole lately. Work has been putting a huge weight on my shoulder, trying to upload a post everyday is tough, and working on my store all at the same time is pretty stressful. I've become pretty uninspired lately with #ootd posts because of this, and trying to focus on my feed.

I don’t even really want to write anything on this blog today either, but I am going to force myself. I’ve learned two vital lessons about what to do at times like these when I’m feeling uninspired. Knowing the difference between the two has been essential to my being able to create and stay sane.

The first lesson is to fight through the resistance. Author of The War of Art Steven Pressfield explains in his book that there is a force warring against your creativity. It is called “Resistance,” and it wants to keep you from your destiny. You need to get up every day, expecting resistance, and fight through it. You must not wait for inspiration, but you have to do your part by showing up. It’s up to the Muse to do the rest.

The second way to deal with lack of inspiration is to recognize the difference between “blocked” and empty. "Writer’s block” may be something much different. When we’re feeling uninspired we may be, and probably are emotionally empty. If that’s the case, the last thing you would want to do would be to through the block. Because you’re blocked, your mind is empty. You need to fill up. You need to step away from your work and do something that recharges you, that leaves you feeling refreshed and inspired.

Once you’re full again, get right back at it. Start creating and continue working through the resistance!


Meet Serena

Daughter, sister, significant other, leader, passionate, dreamer, believer.

Recent Posts

bottom of page